(Art and Culture School)

Rabu, 27 Oktober 2010

Ngupingkeun Suanten Musik

Listening to Music with Professor Craig Wright

course images

About Professor Craig Wright

Craig Wright received the degree Bachelor of Music in piano and music history at the Eastman School of Music (1966) and a Ph.D. in musicology at Harvard (1972), and since 1973 has taught at Yale University where he is currently the Henry L. and Lucy G. Moses Professor of Music. At Yale, Wright's courses include his perennially popular introductory course "Listening to Music" and his selective seminar "Exploring the Nature of Genius." During the summers he has led several Yale Alumni tours to France, Germany, and Italy. Among his six books are Music and Ceremony at Notre Dame of Paris (1989), Music in Western Civilization (2005), Listening to Music (6th edition, 2011), and Listening to Western Music (2007). He is presently at work on a volume entitled Mozart's Brain: Exploring the Nature of Genius. In 2004 Wright was awarded the honorary degree Doctor of Humane Letters by the University of Chicago.

Lecture 1 -
next session >>


Professor Wright introduces the course by suggesting that "listening to music" is not simply a passive activity one can use to relax, but rather, an active and rewarding process. He argues that by learning about the basic elements of Western classical music, such as rhythm, melody, and form, one learns strategies that can be used to understand many different kinds of music in a more thorough and precise way -- and further, one begins to understand the magnitude of human greatness. Professor Wright draws the music examples in this lecture from recordings of techno music, American musical theater, and works by Mozart, Beethoven, Debussy and Strauss, in order to introduce the issues that the course will explore in more depth throughout the semester.

Reading assignment:

Wright, Craig. Listening to Music, chapter 1

Class lecture:

medium bandwidth
low bandwidth
high bandwidth


Professor Wright's course contains copyrighted material, including portions of musical works, the use of which may not have been specifically authorized by the copyright owner. In making this content available, we have relied on fair use as provided for in section 107 of the United States Copyright Law. We make no representation that your use, reuse or remixing of this content will constitute fair use or that by using, reusing or remixing this content you will not infringe upon the rights of others. If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes that exceed fair use or wish to use such material in a manner that is not authorized under the applicable copyright law, you must request permission from the copyright owner.

Special thanks to Naxos, LLC for providing recordings from the Naxos Music Library for use in connection with the Open Yale Courses publication of Craig Wright's Listening to Music course. For specific credits, see:
Naxos Music Credits - Lecture 1 [PDF]

Senin, 18 Oktober 2010

Ebiet G Ade-Untuk Kita Renungkan

Intro: D A7 G A7 D (2x)

D A7 D
Kita mesti telanjang dan benar-benar bersih, suci lahir dan di dalam batin

A7 G A7 D
Tengoklah ke dalam sebelum bicara, singkirkan debu yang masih melekat hohoo…

G A7 D
Singkirkan debu yang masih melekat

Interlude: D A7 G A7 D (2x)

D A7 D
Anugerah dan bencana adalah kehendakNya, kita mesti tabah menjalani

A7 G A7 D
Hanya cambuk kecil agar kita sadar, adalah Dia di atas segalanya

A7 D
Hohohoo… adalah Dia di atas segalanya

A G A7 D
Anak menjerit-jerit asap panas membakar, lahar dan badai menyapu bersih

A G A7 D
Ini bukan hukuman hanya satu isyarat, bahwa kita mesti banyak berbenah

F#m Bm
Memang bila kita kaji lebih jauh

E E7 A A7
Dalam kekalutan masih banyak tangan yang tega berbuat nista, hohohoo…

Tuhan pasti telah memperhitungkan, amal dan dosa yang kita perbuat, hohohoo…

G D A7 D
Kemanakah lagi kita ‘kan sembunyi, hanya kepadaNya kita kembali

G D A7 D
Tak ada yang bakal bisa menjawab, mari hanya ‘tuk bersujud padaNya

Interlude: D A7 G A7 D (2x)

D A7 D
Kita mesti berjuang memerangi diri, bercermin dan banyak bercermin

A7 G A7 D
Tuhan ada di sini di dalam jiwa ini, berusahalah agar Dia tersenyum

A7 D
Hohohoo… berusahalah agar Dia tersenyum

Coda: D A7 G A7 D (2x)